Be flexible

October 2, 2006

In direct opposition to my post on Friday I want to offer up a small tidbit of advice. Whenever possible, try to be flexible and it just might turn out to make your life easier and the sale or proposition easier to swallow. Let me explain.

If you remember, my partner is tight with money. I was on a mission to sell him on the idea that we should purchase fairly expensive business cards in an effort to create a fairly high end image. I believe everything that I said still holds true, but we have to ask ourselves, “Is there an easier way that just might work just as well?”.

The answer turned out to be “yes”. With a little creativity, I started to look at ways to reduce the cost of our business cards without sacrificing quality. I found out that the reason the cards were going to be so expensive was because of the colors on the logo. For technical reasons it was going to cause the printer a lot of time and trouble and they would have to use higher quality print plates to pull off my design. So, I started to look at my options.

What I decided to do was simplify the logo colors a bit. By doing this I was able to cut $150 off our total bill. And guess what? My partner agreed immediately to printing the cards the way I wanted.

Moral of the story? Look for ways to be flexible without completely compromising what you want. It just might make your life a whole lot easier.

Quote of the day: “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

   

Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

